Links: History |  Mission |  Vision

The Anaesthesia Department ABU Zaria was established in 1968 with three units; Zaria, Kaduna and Malumfashi. The Head office was at Tudun-wada Zaria. It was manned at that time by expatriate staffs from Britain and the Indian sub-continent. It was set up to provide anaesthetic services for all the surgical oriented departments and also clinical training for medical students. There were professors and consultants anaesthetists and also medical officers. In 1983, the department started the training of Nurse Anaesthetists to augment services of the medically qualified staffs. This was suspended in 1988 due to lack of consultant anaesthetists. A training programme for doctors leading to the award of a Diploma in Anaesthesia was commenced in 1989. This was aimed at providing medium level of medically qualified anaesthetic manpower. However this programme was suspended in 1994 due to lack of consultant staff and problems in getting the University Senate to approve the programme. An Intensive Care Unit (ICU) was established in 1990 at Zaria to provide specialized care for critically ill patients of the hospital. In 1990 the department was given partial accreditation by the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria for the training of Resident Doctors for the fellowship of the college in Anaesthesia. The department later got accreditation of the West African College of Surgeons, faculty of Anaesthesia, for Residency training in Anaesthesia. The Department office was relocated to Ahmadu Bello University, Shika-Zaria to occupy the space allocated for Anaesthesia in the new Teaching Hospital Complex in Shika in November, 2005 following the Federal Government directive to relocate to the permanent site at Shika.